The Cancer Cells in Me

Last April, a good friend of mine was insistent on lending me this Anticancer book.  Whoa, whoa, whoa… Anticancer!?

I told him that my philosophy on life was not to look for things to worry about.  I do not want to know how many giant asteroids miss the Earth on a daily basis.  I do not want to know what Tin Pei Ling is up to.

I added that I am not a health freak, I eat in moderation (which is good enough for me) and would probably not follow the advices in it anyway (because I feel that depriving oneself too much takes the fun out of life).  He kept going on and on about it.  By May, I was sold.

It got me crying (not hard to do).  It got me changing my food choices (not hard to do either).  It reaffirmed my spiritual beliefs.  It touched on personal and professional relationships.  I enjoyed it and am thankful for my pushy, Mr Know-it All friend.


[After a 20 year battle with cancer, the author, Dr David Servan-Schreiber passed away on July 24, 2011.]

Leave a comment